29 March 2014

Saturday Spotlight: The Lost Book Reports

What is Saturday Spotlight? It's where I drag bloggers onto my blog for an interview. It's not part of a hop or any organized event. It's merely a way to feature bloggers and get inside their heads a bit. Like a psych session, but fun.

26 March 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (24)

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.
Coming April 15th, right in line with all the ready-for-the-summer contemporaries, What I Thought Was True is Huntley Fitzpatrick's next summertime romance.  I read My Life Next Door and liked it, even if I had some issues with the main character.  I finished My Life Next Door with curiosity about what Huntley Fitzpatrick was going to do next.  I'm a bit skeptical though -- "a magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth"?  Hmm...

Let me know in the comments what's on your WoW list!

22 March 2014

Saturday Spotlight: Bumbles & Fairytales

What is Saturday Spotlight? It's where I drag bloggers onto my blog for an interview. It's not part of a hop or any organized event. It's merely a way to feature bloggers and get inside their heads a bit. Like a psych session, but fun.

19 March 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (23)

After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O'Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to "read" objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title, "America's Sweetheart Seer." But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners' abilities...

Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer?
Coming August 5th,  Lair of Dreams is the sequel to the decisively creepy The Diviners, first book in the Diviners series, new from Libba Bray.  The Diviners did a fine job throwing my sleeping pattern into shambles for a few weeks.  So my outlook for Lair of Dreams has more of a trepidatious slant.

Let me know in the comments if Lair of Dreams is on your watch list.

15 March 2014

Saturday Spotlight: These Flying Pages

What is Saturday Spotlight? It's where I drag bloggers onto my blog for an interview. It's not part of a hop or any organized event. It's merely a way to feature bloggers and get inside their heads a bit. Like a psych session, but fun.

12 March 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (22)

Saba is ready to seize her destiny and defeat DeMalo and the Tonton...until she meets him and he confounds all her expectations with his seductive vision of a healed earth, a New Eden. DeMalo wants Saba to join him, in life and work, to create and build a healthy, stable, sustainable world…for the chosen few. The few who can pay.

Jack’s choice is clear: to fight DeMalo and try to stop New Eden. Still uncertain, her connection with DeMalo a secret, Saba commits herself to the fight. Joined by her brother, Lugh, anxious for the land in New Eden, Saba leads an inexperienced guerilla band against the powerfully charismatic DeMalo, in command of his settlers and the Tonton militia. What chance do they have? Saba must act. And be willing to pay the price.
Coming May 13th, Rising Star concludes Moira Young's clearly awesomesauce series.  This means I have from now till May to finish the second book -- to start it, really.  *avoids reading summary while copying and pasting for fear of spoilers*  I am loving these covers, aren't you?  Though I blanch at seeing -- once again -- another Hunger Games reference, positive or negative.  OY.

Let me know in the comments what it is you're looking forward to this Wednesday.  (Okay, fine, here's a cookie.  Comment already.)

03 March 2014

Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi

The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do--and they are just as determined to stay together.

Within the confines of a cave they're using as a makeshift refuge, they struggle to reconcile their people, Dwellers and Outsiders, who are united only in their hatred of their desperate situation. Meanwhile, time is running out to rescue Cinder, who was abducted by Hess and Sable for his unique abilities. Then Roar arrives in a grief-stricken fury, endangering all with his need for revenge.

Out of options, Perry and Aria assemble an unlikely team for an impossible rescue mission. Cinder isn't just the key to unlocking the Still Blue and their only hope for survival--he's also their friend. And in a dying world, the bonds between people are what matter most.

In this final book in her earth-shattering Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi raises the stakes to their absolute limit and brings her epic love story to an unforgettable close.